Why Being a Procrastinator is Detrimental for Writers

I am writing this because I gave up. I procrastinated and procrastinated and procrastinated for weeks. I feel guilty now and like I’ve lost something important to me. I was doing great. I had 10,000 words in around a week on my story. I posted almost every day on my blog, even though my posts weren’t the highest quality. Then, I just stopped, and I couldn’t bring myself to start again.

To be called a writer, one has to actually write. My writing is far from professional, but I’d like that title: writer. When I think of it, it has a sort of dreamy tone to it, and I have this mental sigh in the background. Sure, it’s a little weird. Isn’t everything?

Large gaps between writing can be detrimental for the development of your work. Unless you are constantly thinking about your story, having huge breaks in writing can make you forget what you were writing about. Plans can be lost in those random back streets of your brain. Worst of all, you can lose interest in the story you’re working on. Gasp! I’d love to say that I have lost no interest whatsoever in my story, but I’d definitely be lying. I will bite my tongue and pretend that I didn’t mention my story, and I can continue telling you how awful it is to be a procrastinator.

Everything moves quickly in the literary world. Every second, something happens. If you are out of your game, you could easily miss out on some of the most valuable moments. Advanced writers who are actually publishing their books have to move fast to get the word out. Successful book marketing is all about the timing. As a highly professional and  experienced procrastinator, I would definitely suck at getting the word out about my book. It would probably be weeks before I would mention it. The timing would be ruined, and I would eventually be named a failure.

Writers need practice. It’s really the only way to get better. Not writing for weeks is like jumping off a moving train headed to success. Wow. So, here I am. The majority of my bones are probably broken. Now, I’m trying to get back on a moving train, which is several times harder than buying a ticket and taking a seat. Writing works the same way. It’s indefinitely harder to start writing after weeks of not writing than to start writing at the beginning of it all. So, procrastinators who stop and start and stop and start will probably have a lot of trouble getting in decent writing experience.

Schedules are important for authors and beginner writers alike. As a procrastinator, no matter how many beautifully crafted schedules I make, I always push things to later dates. It starts with 5 minutes, then an hour, then tomorrow, then next week, and who knows when I will really do it.

Overall, procrastinating is just bad for me. It doesn’t help me achieve anything. It doesn’t help me persevere. Success is about both of these things in conjunction. They are the products of hard work. From this day forward, since I hope to be a successful writer, I will fight the urges to procrastinate. No longer will I sweep my responsibilities under the rug. I encourage you to do the same if you find yourself regularly procrastinating. I wish you luck on your journey to success and hope that you never find yourself chasing that train.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

